ALCOHOL AND DRUG SCREENING IN ARIZONA DUI
Anybody who is convicted of an Arizona DUI offense is required to submit to alcohol screening if they want to avoid some jail time.
For instance, a first offense standard DUI carried a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail. However, the court has the power to suspend all but one day (leaving only 1 day for you to serve) if you agree to get alcohol/drug screening.
The screening after a DUI conviction is designed to determine if you need some form of help with an existing or budding substance abuse problem.
If the alcohol/drug professional determines that you do, you will then need to follow their recommendation in order to avoid the extra jail time.
JAIL IN ARIZONA DUI CASES
EVERY DUI conviction in Arizona carries with it jail time.
The law says that a person must serve at least 24 hours in jail if convicted of even the most basic Arizona DUI charge.
If you are in Maricopa County and you have to do jail time for DUI, you will most likely go to Sheriff Joe Apraio's Tent City.
The maximum jail sentence for any single misdemeanor DUI charge in Arizona is 180 days.
It is important to speak with a lawyer to determine what jail time, if any, you may be exposed to in your case.
PRISON IN ARIZONA DUI CASES
All Class 4 Felony DUI convictions carry a minimum of 4 months in the Arizona Department of Corrections, even for a first offense.
If you are charged with an aggravated DUI, first offense, in Arizona, if your charge isn't dismissed or plea bargained down, and you are found guilty or plead guilty, you will have to do at least 4 months in prison.
If you plead guilty, they will take you into custody immediately.
Use strong caution before pleading guilty to any felony DUI in Arizona with the advice of counsel.